Hello from an Information and Graphic Designer

My name is Zach Moe, I’ve got about 10 years in the graphic and information design fields. I do a lot of infographics, animations, explainer videos and editorial design. I am a freelancer/contractor and am happy to have found this place. I’m here to add to some conversations, help where I can and meet some other designers in the process.

Cheers!
Zach

Welcome to the forum Zach. :grinning:

Hiya Zach!! :raised_hand_with_fingers_splayed:

Welcome Aboard!!! :slight_smile:

Welcome

Welcome to GDF! Hope you will enjoy your stay!

Hey Zach!

I see that this is an old post (about a year old now), but when I searched for the term “Information Design”, your introductory post was the only one on the topic. I can’t say I’m all that surprised - finding any solid information on “Information Design”, as a disciplinary field of design, has been a challenge for me.

I just wanted to send you a quick message to see if you were still an active member &/or still frequented this forum. One of my college courses this semester is “Information Design”. I have no doubt that several people within this forum could help me with any questions regarding the course or its lessons, but finding someone who specializes in Info Design was an unexpected & exciting bonus!

Hope to hear back, but no hard feelings otherwise! :wink:

I’ve always considered the term information design to be just a little awkward given that the design and communication of information is an important part of almost all graphic design. Information design, of course, can be separated out as a separate field of study — especially in a college course — but in practice, most of us are engaged in it to one extent or another and, if not, we should be.