Hello, I'm new. I want all the info my little brain can handle

Hi y’all. My name’s Jordan, and I live in Texas. I’m getting back into graphic design after a couple years hiatus. I’ve always had a passion for art, and creating logos, website designs, and even comics has been a fantastic time thus far. I’d love to start a career in graphic design. I’m about a month’s into learning as much as I can and had a couple questions for real-life designers. Hope to get some replies!

1. Is a career in graphic design a possibility without a bachelor’s degree, but a badass portfolio?

2. How long (realistically) will it take for me to get good enough if I’m self-taught and take a few in-person classes at a college?

I would love any feedback possible. :slight_smile: thanks y’all, hope to see some answers from you soon!

Yes, but make sure the “badass” assessment is from other people and not just your own opinion.

Impossible to put a number on that. It will depend on you.

1 Like

A passion for Art doesn’t always translate into a passion for Design. As many students find out too late, your Art takes a back seat to the client’s specific message needs. That may mean doing something completely outside your preferred style or comfort zone.

That said, it really does help a great deal to have an artistic eye and talent when doing graphic design.

Comic books aren’t graphic design, per se.

Logos aren’t created in a vacuum, there is always branding to be considered there along with technical aspects to logo usage. To make any money at it, you need to be way above the level of Crowdsource logo designers.

Website design is fairly open, but again, you will definitely be constrained by already-existing brand standards and the number of applicants for any one position.

Your questions: