...hello...(I'm shy.)

Hi everyone.
I’m currently a college student majoring in Graphic Design.
While I love art and creating, I’m very intimidated by the technology that’s required, and I’m at constant odds with programs like Adobe Illustrator.
I’m glad to find a forum to discuss graphic design, and I’m looking forward to exchanging thoughts and ideas with everyone.

2 Likes

Welcome Aboard!!! :slight_smile:

welcomeflowers

It’s understandable that you may be of a type that doesn’t embrace technology as readily as some others, but it could just be a matter of adjusting your point of view, or as a very smart person once called it; your “assemblage point.”

It’s a widely held misconception that graphic design is rooted in the software, and that anyone who acquires and learns the software is in a position to take on graphic design work, solely by way of having accomplished those two things. Your education may tend to reinforce this somewhat, with days spent doing nothing but learning software. Despite that, you must make every effort to focus on whatever it is inside you that steered your life in this direction. In truth, graphic design, like art, is a product of heart, mind, and eye. Everything else is a tool of one sort or another. Of course it’s important to learn and explore effective use of those tools, so you must stop seeing them as obstacles and re-position them in the hierarchies of your psyche so that they become a positive element in the execution of your craft. Put your own inner software first—those valuable qualities that are innately yours—your powers of observation and analysis, that intuitive vision, your desire to create, your experiences in the various roles you’ve played in the market-at-large. When you firmly place you at the basis of your practice, the tools become a means to execute your visions, and reasons to feel positively about them will materialize. To realize the value of the software, you must put it in its rightful place.

1 Like