Hello-new with thick sweater

Hi everyone - glad to be here though quite intimidated by the calibre of design knowledge. I am new to GD & really “teaching myself” via online resources. It’s been both daunting and exciting. I’ve brought a big sweater for when I’m brave enough to share a design.
Thanks for the forum.
RimaRima

1 Like

Welcome Aboard :wave: :grin:

Welcome to the forum.

wow thats great thing to do.

Thanks everyone

Welcome.

I always get a bit sceptical of anyone teaching themselves though. The is so much misinformation out there, there is no way of knowing if what you are teaching yourself is correct.

1 Like

@Sprout absolutely. I’m a teacher too and I caution my students about this all the time lol. I’ve been in media for a long time though so not totally new to the visual world of storytelling (I work in film). I’ve also worked closely with designers on numerous projects. I completely understand it’s not the same thing as doing it, having studied it and having tons of experience in design - that just invaluable.

I’m in awe of many designers out there and I know I’d need another lifetime to know what they do - and that’s not even talking natural talent.

But I guess this is how I’m entering - wide eyed and overwhelmed most of the time lol but also really loving the learning because I’m able to apply it in everyday work.

Sorry for the long note - but your message really got me thinking about how design - and other media forms like filmmaking, video editing etc - have been blown wide open with more accessible learning tools. And the challenges that come with this too.