Help with my promotion

Hi everyone! I posted a similar post to this one a while back, but things changed a little. So first, I would like to add a little context to clarify my situation.

I’m a graphic designer with 20 years of experience. I’ve been with my current employer for almost two years. I’ve been a senior designer at previous places, but something always happened (Covid, layoffs, etc.) that forced me to go back to accepting mid-level graphic design positions. I have a family so there are bills to pay after all.

Back in January, I was telling my boss that over the past year I’ve had time to see things that could be improved on in our department. One of them having someone with a design background review the junior designer’s work and just keeping the brand consistent throughout. Right now I have the most design experience in our department and my boss knows nothing about design (he comes from a writing background) so it would only make sense for that person to be me. During our one on one a couple of weeks later, he suggested promoting me to a higher position. He suggested an art director, but I don’t know if that’s what this small company needs. It might be overkill. Plus, this would not be a management position. I don’t want to be stuck in meetings all day. I’m a designer and don’t have any interest in that, at least for the time being. Now he wants me to write up a “review policy” that covers what items need to be reviewed that the junior creates and when. Not only that, but there’s a marketing coordinator who resizes ads and other pieces so I would definitely need to see those. I was thinking this is more of a senior designer position, but now I don’t know. If I’m going to be reviewing work and suggesting art direction to keep the brand in one voice, then it might be an art director.