Hey Everybody

New to the site. I recently decided to go freelance and would love advice on how to start. I just ended my 9 - 5 job and wanted to give my full time to graphic design.

I’m concerned about the financial aspects of it. I’m from New York State and the issue of taxes and if I have to register my business as a freelance graphic designer. Someone suggested I set up a *sole proprietor. While others say I don’t need it in New York State. It’s a bit confusing.

Welcome Aboard :slight_smile:

The laws are murky in NY … such as no sales tax if you sell something non tangible. But, if you make a poster and send it to someone … now it’s tangible.

I am no lawyer … but I strongly suggest you register as a business and get a tax ID … keep EVERYTHING separate from your individual banking. Because if nothing is there to differentiate between you and your business and someone sues … everything you have could be on the line.

Again, not a lawyer. :slight_smile:

First off, if you’re going into business for yourself, stop thinking of it in terms of freelancing. You’re setting up a business and need to treat it as such.

I’m certainly not an attorney or an accountant but speaking from personal experience, you have some options for setting up your business. Let’s assume that you don’t want to do the first option, which is just winging it, cashing the checks, and hoping for the best.