Hey guys

Hello there, I go by beckasso and I’m a art director and designer from Brazil. Looking forward to getting more connected with the online design community, specially in times like these. Perhaps to keep it less boring I’ll just throw a random question here.

How does your work represent your life philosophy?

(ok no so random, a little bit complex too)

1 Like

Interesting question.

One of my beliefs is that I should love and care for my family to the best of my ability. So my work allows me to feed, clothe, shelter, and provide for the needs of my family,

Or you could say that my personal views are expressed by the nonprofit organizations that I choose to assist with a discounted rate or with pro bono would.

That said, I don’t think your life philosophy should be reflected in commercial art done for clients. Fine art? Sure. But our jobs as designers is to solve our client’s communication problems – not interject ourselves into the work we do for them.

They may overlap. For example, let’s say one of your life philosophies is “a place for everything and everything in it’s place” and you’re doing a website for a company that builds custom closets. Then, sure, your philosophy will be right at home. But it might not be as appropriate for that philosophy to shine through on a job where you need to reflect chaos and disorganization.

2 Likes

My life philosophy is that I make loads of money without lifting a finger. My work does not reflect that.

1 Like

That’s very interesting and I totally see what you mean.

As I’ve gotten deeper into the whole lifestyle design mentality, I contemplated more and more how my works tells a story and that I get to choose what story is being told (or at least, be conscious about it). Why should a cliente hire me instead of someone with the same abilities? Why having a stable and healthy creative flow improves the quality of my work? That kind of thing.