Hey there :)

Hey graphic designers, am self taught graphic designer, well not yet, but i’ll be with you help, that’s what i enjoyed this community , to learn from the best :blush:
i started to learn 2 months ago by my self, and God, its not easy at all!!, but am stubborn and will not stop here for sure, :muscle:
if you there are someones here who learned by them self, i’ll really appreciate it if they could give some help, and whats courses / books they read ,

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

My advice is to start by learning how to draw. This is a good book to get you started.
Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain

2 Likes

Exciting! Don’t give up, you will love this profession. They say it takes 7 years to be a pro.

1 Like

Hey Zack!! I can only tell you what I’ve googled as I am not a designer yet. Do you have a particular skill yet or are you (like me) trying to learn it all at once?

1 Like

Hi Zack! Welcome Aboard! Best wishes on your learning adventure :taco::pizza::hamburger:

welcome44

1 Like

7 years!? Is that all? :wink:

1 Like

7 years with 4 of them spent in a good program. 3 years of working world experience on top of that will put you just above Entry level, given that entry level in Graphic Design is now pretty much a Bachelors Degree plus 2 years of work experience.:wink:

We just hired a junior. Bachelors Degree, 2 internships while in school, 2 years at a beverage shop, 3 years beauty packaging. Including school, just shy of 10 years. :raised_hand_with_fingers_splayed::raised_hand_with_fingers_splayed:

1 Like

So, there’s no hope for people like us who are trying to teach ourselves? That doesn’t sound very encouraging.

This article, though old, is a good starting point.

1 Like

Nowadays in the US, the design job market is saturated with degreed and non-degreed designers. There are hundreds, maybe thousands like yourself, who decide they want to be a designer every day.