Hi all! Checking in

Hi all,

I am new to graphic design. However we are not new to drawing and painting. Looking forward to a long-term membership here.

Thank you for your time.

Welcome to the forum, Splatter.

Your first post triggered some spam alerts, but I think it was because you inadvertently added four spaces before a paragraph, which is a shortcut the forum software uses to use monospaced type. I’ve removed the spaces, so all is good now.

Hey thanks for touching base with me. I am currently searching the site. Im looking for info that I can surprise the wife with. We are looking to get setup for at home design making.

Can I ask, design making what?

The printed stickers on my truck are what I would like to create outside of drawing. I had a neighbor create them. He says he uses cad.

Illustrator would be the way to go for a pro – looking at that sticker with the addition of an imported bitmap from photoshop (though the texture in the numbers could, theoretically be done in vector).

However, I imagine you would want a cheaper option. Affinity is a cheaper option and for what you need, just as good. There are free options available for vector editors, but I know nothing about them. I believe, gimp is one.

Ok thank you for your recomemdation. What can we use to draw on?

GIMP is raster
INKSCAPE is vector

There you go. Told you I knew nothing about them. Thanks for clarifying.

I will look up the differences between the two and see what would better suite our needs. We definitely want something that could overlay like the stickers I posted. The wife decorates the house more then anyone lol

Anyone have recomendations for a tablet or computer we can draw on then send the art out for printing?

Thanks!

What’s your budget?

The “send the art out for printing” is a bit of a hangup.