High School Rebranding Project

Hi everyone. I’m not a professional, so please be nice. Ha! I was recently approached by my High School to help with a larger scale rebranding project.

Our first stage of the project is to come up with a primary and secondary mark for both Academics+Administration and Athletics. Next steps will be lockups and other peripherals to fill out a proper Brand Guideline. As far as the primaries and secondaries go, we’ve done a ton of work to narrow down to a few options that we like. None of us are professionals so I figured I’d bring them here to get some expert advice.

The Shamrock logo has been used in the past and must be part of the rebrand. I have a few things that I’d like to get your thoughts on…

1. Do the green and gold contrast enough to not require a white outline (keyline?) around the Shamrock? Does it look better with the outline?
  2. Does the sunburst add or take away value from the marks? Faith is one of the keywords that we want the brand to convey so I felt like the burst could help accomplish that. Also, give the gold an opportunity to be gold and not tan/brown.
  3. I’d love to get an idea of which primaries people like most (Pages 1 and 3). The secondaries will be a function of which primaries we decide to go with.

I appreciate any help you can provide. Hopefully I did this the right way. First post!

Thanks,
Mike

I’m curious about something. Why did the school go with a non-professional on this project?

They did but weren’t satisfied with the direction.

oy … I wouldn’t touch this. If they weren’t happy with a professional … imagine how impressed they will be with someone who doesn’t know what they are doing.

Granted I have no idea what your qualifications are. But, it makes me wonder if they really did consult with a professional or are trying to find something less expensive. Please tell me they are at least paying you and you have some sort of contract?

1 Like