How can i improve this logo? Need inspiration :)

So, I’m a musician and I wanna start posting music-related stuff on social media so that I can start to build a portfolio of what I do. Nothing elaborate, but I thought it would be cool if I could be a tad bit more professional and try to establish some kind of “brand” that looks consistent across platforms.

Logo explanation:
-My real initials are j.a.m. I wanna start making videos where I jam around with either myself or my fellow musicians who agree to engage with me. I think that would be… sweet. :sweat_smile:
-There is a jam lid with cloth that is tied by string.
-There is a musical note on the M to indicate that it is music-related.

I was going for a very minimalistic and flat design so that I can have a bit of flexibility with how I use it.

Please share your honest thoughts on this. I’m still contemplating whether I’m stretching this idea too far into confusion. :rofl: I’d rather not hire a pro designer, but I may consider it if the feedback goes in that direction.

Does this look like a skirt instead of a jam lid with cloth?

No.

Should I add hanging string? bow knot? Not necessary?

Try it. Maybe it gets too complex then.

Does the A need to be perfectly centred? Does it seem off-balanced?

No. It isn’t strictly necessary imho. More important to me is proper kerning. J<>dot feels wider than A<>dot and dot<>M is too close, but could be improved by leaving out the note.

Are the rounded edges too inconsistent?

Yes, I think so.

Is this musical note prominent enough?

No. Leave it away. You don’t need it. You’ll probably end up in the music category anyway.

Lid and cloth remind me of a drum.

Can you still see the jar when you make the white parts red without the red circle?

2 Likes

I got the jam jar right off, because it says Jam right on it. :slight_smile:
The fact that it looks like a drum as well, I thought kind of clever.

The musical note looks like an error. Another dot. You don’t really need it.