I brought booze and cocktail weenies!

Hey, all!

My name is Steve. I’ve been a self-employed designer since the early 90s. Yeah, I’m old enough to have made mechanicals and still own a waxer. Many years ago, I was pretty active on the mighty HOW forum (same user name). That group largely migrated to Facebook and the forum was eventually closed. I made the transition to Facebook, but it didn’t really take as I’m not a fan of Facebook. I do miss the camaraderie of having an online place to interact with other designers, so I thought I’d give GDF a go. Looking forward to getting to know everyone.

1 Like

Welcome Steve_O.

The owners of the old HOW forum stopped caring and didn’t let the moderators moderate. It turned into a mess and was taken over by spam before HOW finally closed it. Like you I was there, but I can’t even remember my user name.

Anyway, this forum isn’t like that. It’s no longer owned by an uncaring corporate entity, and I think it’s got a fighting chance because some of us, like you and me, prefer an actual conversation to the hit-and-run nature of Facebook. Don’t get me wrong, I use Facebook too, but I like a real forum better.

Anyway, like I said, thanks for showing up (I too still have my old waxer hidden away in a drawer somewhere).

1 Like

Hi Steve_O
I remember your name being on the HOW forum. I was over there too but didn’t participate much because there was a cast of youngster trolls over there that were just plain tiresome. I think my screen name was Mutley or something like that.

I was a daylight stat cam operator for a bit just before the changeover to digital. Never had a waxer.
:slight_smile:

1 Like

Ha! My fingers get permanently brittled from handling a little too many PMTs. Those were the days. I do have a waxer and a good (?) supply of wax bars.

1 Like

Hey Steve!! Nice to meet you :slight_smile:

We’ve all been around a while … my edges are getting a bit crispy LOL :smiley: