Infographic

This is probably the first infographic I’ve ever done, so any feedback to make the next one better is much appreciated. I’m a pharmacist, but have somewhat out of necessity started getting interested in graphic design. I thought the Visual Capitalist website was amazing and wanted to try my hand at something like that in the pharmacy world!

Holy Word Overload, Batman.
The major criticism of this is: Hierarchy.
Where the heck is my eye supposed to start?
Your numbers are all over the place, 10 ends up coming after 9, 12 and 13 come after 14 – they do not flow left to right as you might think because that circlular chain of arrows is pulling your eye down, then the starburst (yikes) and gears pull down to the right, The clipboard comes next and then it’s off the page to get a welcome respite from the cacaphony.

Sorry. This is really not working at all.

1 Like

I agree with all of this being said. I don’t even know where to start to look, and I’m not even engaged.
Just at a glance io see you put strokes, and affects around your typography and some of the graphics. That is generally frowned upon and really isn’t needed.

Try starting with a grid, or sketching out some layout ideas.

I appreciate the feedback. I read a little about color theory and a little about fonts before getting started but will look up articles on hierarchy/layout too. It’s definitely a lot to learn, but I guess doing it is probably the best way to figure out what to work on lol.

Actually, this is the type of stuff one would learn in a college course in professional graphic design. Then it’s all about practicing and figuring out what works. Yes, there is a lot to learn. Far more than a little color theory and typography. And it doesn’t end with hierarchy.
Not sure why other professionals think the very real profession of graphic design is easy.

3 Likes

Infographic implies communications of information. I think that is a good place to start.