Inkscape + Affinity Designer Combo

I’m a logo designer who uses the title combo instead of Illustrator.

Inkscape - the cornerstone of my workflow - is very powerful and feature-rich, but unfortunately has no color management whatsoever, can’t embed a CMYK color profile or simultaneously exportf multiple files to multiple firmats, which makes the export process very tedious.

Affinity Designer, on the other hand, has the very features Inkscape lacks, but falls short everywhere else.

Thats’t why I use them in concert. First, I sculpt my design in Inkscape - in black & white - and then I transfer it to Designer for CMYK colorization - in a color-managed environment - and final export.

The two apps compliment each other very nicely. The only possible drawback is that you can only copy objects directly from Inkscape to Designer and not the outher way around, as Inkscape turns Designer vector objects into bitmaps.

Otherwise it’s a great option, provoded you aren’t required to deliver .AI files.

It costs no more than one or two months of an Illustrator subscription (for a lifetime Designer license).

Credit: Nick Saporito (Logos by Nick).

This whole thing feels very spammy, but I’ll play along. How is Affinity Designer falling short? I’m not a user of this app, but it looks pretty interesting.

Call me cynical, but I get suspicious the moment anyone describes themselves as a ‘logo designer’.

1 Like

In my time there was no such job description.

In short, Designer is very modest compared to something like Inkscape:

• limited path/object operations toolset;

• no effects/filters

• no live path effects

• no bitmap tracing

Logo design is what I specialize in and do for a living.
There’s a link to my Behance portfolio in my profile.

I merely want to share my toolset and make people aware of an interesting - albeit not 100% free - alternative to Illustrator.

For the price of illustrator, very cheap, I only pay 60 euro a month for the entire creative suite.