Just starting out - HELP!

Hello, I’m in the UK and would appreciate any help!

I’m new to graphic design but passionate about it. I’m looking to being working from home part-time and would like to focus on business logo design, stationary etc. This will be turning a hobby into a job. I have done a little of this from friends and family and I’m not going to be taking over the world but would appreciate any help/tips in terms of where to look for work, what design programmes other people are using for such work and realistic fees to charge.

I want to build up a customer base and “get out there” but this will be a single person enterprise so need to be sensible with my overall time, business generation and actual work/design.

Any help, pointers, suggestions etc would be welcome and thank you for your time.

Jake

If you are going to make a business out of your hobby, do research into what it means to set up a business in your locale. Do you have a business plan? Do you know what will happen to your assets if someone decides to sue you?

Just gonna say, Business Logos are not developed in a vacuum. Usually they are part and parcel with a much larger design and marketing package that not only introduces the design, but also introduces the company to the public. That would include advertising, web design, marketing of all kinds, possibly a store or restaurant fit out…it goes far beyond just the pretty picture. Someone looking for a serious startup package isn’t going to be hiring a hobbyist.

“Doing business logos” is a very serious endeavor. Someone else’s livelihood is resting on your skill at reading their market. And heaven help you if you inadvertently recreate an existing logo and your client gets a cease and desist. I’ve always been of the opinion logo designers should have to carry some type of malpractice insurance, but at the very least you want to do whatever is legally possible to separate your assets from your business.