Learning the freelance business

Hello. Attempting to start a freelance business. Have so many questions. But for now… hello everyone.

Welcome to the forum DatPug. It’s nice to have you here. Maybe you can supply us with a few answers as well. :grinning:

Start with your experience level. Most successful freelancers have actually worked in the field for some time before striking out on their own

Hey DP,

I just joined this forum myself. I’m a complete newbie. I have experience in many things unrelated to graphic design, but negligible experience in graphic design. I can use gimp, but not particularly well. I’ve designed a few tees and been involved in the design process of a few low level small business logos. I like to think I’m a quick learner, but someone else would have to confirm…

I do also have a natural interest in business, so I’d be interested in things said here!

Thanks and hello all!

Certainly.

I’ve spent nearly 20 years as an in-house graphic designer for a large corporate. I’ve been a designer and senior manager of a large studio.
But being shelter by a corp you don’t really know the Administrative part of the graphic design business as much. I’m hoping to find some answers here.

Yeah, but does that come with health insurance and matching contributions to a 401k? :wink:

I say that tongue-in-check since I’ve been self employed essentially my whole career, I’ve had to pay for my own health insurance and fund my own retirement.

Certainly does.
Not complaining about it. The corporate gig has offered me some really cool projects. But I feel I’m missing a huge portion of the business.

Welcome Aboard! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Sounds like you have the chops. So many come here expecting to start freelancing from ground zero.
What part of the field are you looking at moving into? Print? Web? or expanding into some of the more insane aspects of graphic design like experiential environments or entertainment?