Logo Design Critique

Hello! This is the logo for one of those 30 day logo design challenge’s. This one is for Alison Cosmetics, an online beauty store. The idea behind this logo is that two circles, one of whom is significantly larger than other, represents pupil of an eye. It is based on the fact that your pupils dilate when you see something beautiful.

I’ve been learning logo design for past 6-7 months solely from books and youtube.

Let me know your valuable feedback on this! Thanks!

1 Like

Ok, you might see that as two eyes because you know what you designed.
To the rest of us?
It’s just two interlinked circles.

Aesthetically, your balance is off. The circles are competing with the word Alison as far as density. They are just close enough in weight to be similar but just different enough to cause visual discord.

As a sign guy, I hate skinny stick fonts (I can’t fabricate them, they have to be printed) but they seem to be a trend these days.
Trends…End. Eventually.

1 Like

I like the concept behind the logo, its smart and creative. I don’t think the execution works though.
3 dimensionally the logo looks more like maybe a tube; it doesn’t really say beauty products to me. The thickness of it also doesn’t say refinement. I say the logo more speaks to something like a bank/investment firm.

The typeface you used for “ALISON” also has the same feel. I would suggest using a typeface that has slightly rounded corners for a friendlier look. Maybe like Brandon Grotesque which has bit of a classy look to it.

The visual hierarchy of the text looks decent. I would maybe look to make “cosmetics” smaller though. I would also look to take it out when designing the logo. If the logo doesn’t say “beauty products” without the “cosmetics” in there it’s probably best to rework things.