Logo for Local Family Business Startup

Concept : This is my first iteration of the logo for a local startup called “Rebait”.

Purpose or Goal : Rebait is a local business that finds both junk and treasures at the bottom of the local rivers and either recycles or repurposes them, selling products for less than half their origional price.

The logo needs to have the values present in the design: recycle, hooks, & underwater theme

Format : Intended for combination of digital and print ise.

Audience : The ideal customer is local to Eastern Washington, primarily the tricities area. Target age is 20-60+, for the fishing community.

Your Experience Level : I’m a beginning graphic designer, so I feel there’s much for me to learn.

Nature of Job: Family favor, probono addition to a design portfolio.image

1 Like

Do you have any sketches of your initial ideas? I’m asking because it looks like you just jumped right to the computer and are trying to figure it out as you go.

While I think hooks/anchors/etc. could work, I think those are some obvious choices that some quick sketches may help you get past. If you have no sketches, you should. It’s hugely beneficial to quickly coming up with ideas.

3 Likes

I’m having a little trouble imagining anything I’d want to buy that had sat underwater for any amount of time. Granted, magnet fishing can be fun but…
And ReBAIT suggests going fishin’, not recycled wet stuff.

1 Like

I think it’s a bit too complicated with too many ideas squeezed into the composition. The overlapping elements impair legibility. How would it work in just black and white (no grays). The fish hooks are a bit awkward in how they protrude from the letters in unnatural ways.

And as Craig mentioned, it looks as though you’ve just jumped into it on your computer rather than sketching out a few dozen concepts on paper where it’s easier to plow through multiple ideas without getting hung up on details.