Logo for my Film Production company

Hi everyone,

this is the logo that I’m trying to create for my new Film/Video Production company Lama Productions. We are doing a bit of everything at the moment, from corporate jobs, short documentaries and music videos, mostly for online content.

I’m not a graphic artist and although I use many programmes in CC professionally I only have a basic understanding of InDesign (that I’ve used for this logo).

The name La-Ma comes from the initial of the two founders and as there is an assonance to llama I thought it would be nice to have a llama in our logo but… the jury is out, really not sure about that, so your comments would be appreciated. Also, I’m not aiming for cute or funny with the llama and I’m afraid it reduces readability, but without it the logo might be too plain. The red dot is a hint to the rec button.

The llama on the red dot would be an icon type reduction of the main logo, left and right are two separate logos.

The logo would be used mainly on our website, at the end of videos and on business cards.

Let me know what you think!

Matteo

Your wordmark is totally illegible.
It doesn’t help that it starts with a Y (is llama pronounced yama, I’ve always wondered?)
I get the llama head, but llamas don’t have humps.
The red dot llama is difficult to suss out without the wordmark.
If the name is LaMa, you may want to spell it that way. Otherwise it comes off as a mispelling.
InDesign, while serviceable, isn’t the right tool for logo creation - and in fact can introduce production oddities to files (not in your particular case, those oddities are related to gradients and transparencies.) Illustrator would be a better choice.

3 Likes

Sorry mate, Printdriver is totally right - unfortunately this logotype is illegible. I never would have known that it said “Lama” without someone telling me.

If this logo is important to you, perhaps it might be best to get someone who specializes in branding to design it for you?