Magazine Article Critique for Student

Hello, I am a new student to graphic design, and am working on a magazine design layout. I would be interested to hear anyone’s feedback on the design/layout. This is a layout of an article posted to YES! magazine with a creative commons license.

My audience is a young feminist woman, in her 20’s to mid-30’s.

1. Explain the use of the template in this instance. Is the entire thing a page, including the wooden background? If so change it up a bit. You’ve only flopped it. Some quick work with Photoshop will fix that.
    If the background design crosses the page fold do it as a full spread, not as individual pages with unlike textures/colors.

2. The title needs to be legible. The typeface works for effect, but you have to find one that is slightly more legible, with more letter options so it looks hand written, not machined. Or get out your calligraphy pen and hand write it yourself, without relying on a machine face.

3. Typo: Suffragist’s

4. Pull quotes should be something that will draw the reader in. Your first one isn’t a grabber. The other two are ok.

You did well on your word wrap and on avoiding widows and orphans. You have to check with the magazine specs on hyphenation. I do a lot of historical exhibits and the hyphens, to me, are out of place, but if the magazine accepts them, then ok.

BYU student?

I agree with PrintDriver’s observations. In addition, here are a few of my own.

Placing images of a book inside a magazine is an interesting idea, but I think it could be made to work better.

The margins around the edges with the wooden planks are seemingly arbitrary and, in spots, like the top and bottom, claustrophobic. If you’re aiming for a random placement look, make it look comfortable and deliberate instead of like an oversight.

Spaces between paragraphs are standard for online text, but less than ideal for printed materials. Use paragraph indents instead.