Magazine Article Design Class Project

Hey guys! I am extremely new to graphic design and completed this project for a class. I was just seeking any constructive criticism from others far more experienced than me, thank you!

Target Audience: People who follow sports or also know friends and/or family dealing with dementia-related struggles

Purpose: I attempted to blend modern newspaper article style with old newspaper article style in an effort to emphasize the themes of memory-loss and vintage baseball. I used stock artwork of vintage baseball players to enhance that message

Use: Two Magazine Spreads (Four Pages)

First thing I noticed was the unusual way the folio was treated. Second thing I noticed was the byline did not appear with the title. The third was the half-line para-spacing: Unless you have equal odd or even para-spaces, the two columns will never line up.

thE 1890 player catching the ball is cropped to much and looks like he is drowning.
actually the graphics are not making me want to read the article and i love baseball.
maybe they are used too much?
i dunno, maybe something like this might help,

Your text is formatted like a website with spaces between paragraphs instead of paragraph indents. Magazines, like almost all periodicals and books, use paragraph indents. Your leading is also way too spacious and the lines at the bottom of the page don’t horizontally align.

If you use a drop cap to start the story, make it larger so that it attracts attention and unambiguously says the story starts here. This would also have been a good opportunity to reuse the beefy slab serif you used for a headline. Thick slab serifs make great drop caps.

Speaking of where the story starts, it’s usually the place for the author’s byline and title. You’ve placed the byline at the end of the story, which is sometimes done, but it’s customary to supply readers with a little more information about the author’s credentials than just a name.