My first portfolio

Hey everyone,
This is my first portfolio as I’m still a student, looking for some feedback. I am still working on the copy as I’ve got a friend who is a successful copywriter who has agreed to help me out with it so ignore the lorem ipsum ect. for now.

www.mollyblack.com.au

Thanks to everyone that responds!

There are some positive things about your website. It’s easy to navigate and read. Your work stands out, sort of. More on that later. The site is responsive. When you click on a work sample, it brings up a new page with a description and more details. You have a clear call to action after the work samples. The black and white color palette puts the visual emphasis on the work samples.

My biggest hangup is with the above the fold content on the home page. Here’s what I see when I first pull up your website:

There is zero indication of what you do, what the benefit to me is or why I should stick around. Okay, you’re Molly. So what? Do you sell palm trees? Are you a landscape architect? Is this a site with travel photos? Do you sell time share condos? Even if the “words” is replaced with a description, I don’t think the above the fold content is strong enough The photo of palm trees really doesn’t say very much to me. What if the palm tree image was replaced with a slider of work samples? This is why I said your work stands out, sort of. You have to scroll down to get to your work samples. I’d like to see work – or something to give me a quicker impression of what you do – above the fold.

Consider what type of work you’re going after. The first work samples presented, especially on mobile, are illustration work and a photomontage. If that’s what you really want to be doing and there’s a strong market for that where you live, great. If you’re more interested in branding work, you may think about moving the branding samples up. Side note: the MICDA logo is very nice.