Need feedback for Emblem Logo design

KC Crest
I’m new to this so I would love some feedback. This is my re-design of my high school emblem. Someone told me that I don’t know what i’m doing and that an emblem cannot look like that. But I don’t see what I did wrong. Please feel free to give your me your opinion. Thanks.

Please give more context including supporting conversations and the brief.
What else did they say about the emblem - did they expalin why it can’t look like that?
Have you researched school emblems?

1 Like

Without more context, it’s impossible to say whether your redesign accomplishes anything new or communicates the school’s character and values effectively.

Mechanically, I see a number of things I’d call “mistakes” or elements that could be improved. A graphic for this purpose should be 100% vectors, and 100% original. You really can’t get away with incorporating photographs like those pineapples or commercially available, raster-format clipart like the book and the dog. The motto type on the banner needs a lot more work. The position of every character could be improved. I can’t find one I wouldn’t adjust.

1 Like

Unfortunately, they were right.

Your design is full of basic mistakes:

• It’s way too detailed. Once you scale it down to a smaller size, it will become completely unrecognizable.

• You can’t use bitmaps - such as those pineapples - as part of a logo. A logo must be infinitely upscalable, which raster images are not. Once you make the design large, the pineapples will get pixelated and blurry. Even at he current size, you can tell that the bitmaps are of poor quality,

• It’s unclear whether the slogan is “fortis cadere cadere non potest” or “fortis potest cadere cadere non”. I know it’s the former, but a random viewer is going to have a problem.

A good logo is simple and easy to memorize.

Just have a look at these (top-level) designs:

2 Likes

Thank you

Thanks