Need more eyes

I’m relatively new to design.
I’m mostly self taught but going to start school for fall semester.
Doing commissions already, but I stated my own apparel designs as well.
I have 2 designs that I’d like some thoughts on:

Thank you in advance.

Yeah, that’s a good way of explaining your work. You have some artistic inclinations, but get ready to have them ripped apart and reorganized once you start school this coming semester.

Giant eyeballs with horns or octopus arms in an ice cream cup will likely be ripped to shreds in your upcoming school critiques. Look up Big Daddy Ed Roth’s artwork for examples of what not to do. Then again, he became famous doing this kind of thing.

It’s the kind of artwork that appeals mostly to adolescent boys, but doesn’t extend much beyond that. As I mentioned, be prepared to have your artistic preferences challenged.

I really dig the work of the kustom kulture guys: Roth, Dutch, Willians, others. This makes me want to go pull my Rat Fink short out of the dirty clothes and put it on.

1 Like

Ed Roth married someone in my little hometown of 2,000 people. He lived the last several years of his life there while driving around in an old horseless carriage sort of contraption and wearing a top hat.

His widow holds an annual Rat Fink Festival at their house each year in June, which attracts several hundred people from all over the world. I keep thinking I should attend, but I never have.

He’s buried a couple of hundred feet from my parents’ grave. I snapped the following photo of his gravestone a year or two ago.

1 Like

As for the original post, I’d classify these as illustrations rather than graphic design. Sorry, I’m not particularly digging either one of these, and I would not wear a shirt with this art.