Novice needs advice please

Hello and thanks in advance.

I am a Realtor hoping to do some of my own design work.

In particular, I would like to take a stock image of a baseball player, and replace the face with my own.

What would be the easiest software to learn how to do that please?

Thanks!!

1 Like

Welcome Aboard :slight_smile:

The industry standard for photo editing is Photoshop by Adobe… not sure if you would call it easy. But, once you get to know the software it’s pretty nice.

Being that you are new to all this. You will first need to use an image that you have the rights to. Even if you purchase a stock image you need to make sure the user agreement would allow for manipulation.

I’m answering this quickly as I have to run an errand … I’m sure others will have good suggestions as well.

Personally, I’d use Photoshop, but it’s likely overkill for what you have in mind. Since most of us here are professional designers (or students), we don’t have all that much experience with the easiest or cheapest. There’s likely hobbyist-level software that would work just fine, but I don’t have a clue what that might be.

However, if you’re going to be shooting or working regularly with photographs of real estate, you might want to invest in Photoshop — either that or, perhaps, Lightroom, which most Photographer seem to prefer.

I’m a designer, looking to sell property on the side. Could you tell me what is the easiest way to do this please? Nope? Because it takes knowledge and experience?

I am not having a go at you personally – well, perhaps I am a bit, but not exclusively. Why is it everyone thinks that just by learning software, you can suddenly do the job of a designer / retoucher / compositor? To do what you want effectively takes more than a basic understanding of software.

Would you do some of your surveying, conveyancing, etc, without the knowledge of an expert in order to save a few dollars?