Old Timer needing the "New Generation" input

Hello all,

I’m a Graphic Designer that has more than 20 years under my belt. 16 of those years is owning a design business. More than a Freelance Biz less than an Agency, if that makes sense. I started my career where a Graphic Designer “Designed” and thats it. Through the years my requests for digital is specs provided, I design to specs and provide the art.

Long story short, I am planning to say goodbye to my own business and join a team. I am coming to terms that a lot has changed in the world of Graphic Design right under my nose while I have been designing away all these years for specialized clientele that only wanted design from me.

As I search Jobs I notice the Graphic Designer label has quite a bit more added to it in what an employer expects from you. Maintaining social media pages, knowing code, Mail chimp, Landing pages and so on.

So I would love some input from the younger generation. What are your daily responsibilities as a designer?

I’m not part of the “new generation.” For that matter, I have 20 years on you.

However, I’ve been the AD/CD in various places managing teams for most of that time, so I can comment on how agency teams often work.

You’re right; graphic designers today are called on to have a more extensive skill set than 20 or 30 years ago.

Suppose you’re the sole designer in an agency that does everything from video to social media to websites, to print, to app development, and 3D animation. In that case, you’ll need to be a graphic design polymath of the kind I’ve never encountered.

Everyone has their specialties and things they do better than others. If you’re joining a team, the work will likely be divided into ways that cater to each person’s strengths. Even so, as part of a team, you still need to know enough about the other team member’s specialties to engage with them as a team member, even when it’s not your expertise.