Opinions for this real estate logo

I’m pretty new to logos. I have really been pushing myself lately with a kind of challenge. Just would like to know if this is up to standard or what improvements I can make?
Thanks

Awful. Lines too thin. Unreplicable on various substrates. Wouldn’t reproduce well at smaller sizes. Colour is not great. Wouldn’t know what it was from a distance.

I assume / hope this is not a live job for an actual company and just an exercise to learn.

I agree with Smurf and I’d also add; Don’t design logos in isolation. Learn what they are, as part of a brand identity. Logos as a standalone graphics are fairly vacuous eye-candy – or not. Logo design is the ‘new black’; the Rock ’n Roll du jour. Unless you plan on making a career (clue, you won’t) in the bottom-feeding world of crowd-source sites, then learn the craft and learn it the correct way.

I assume you are still young and not yet at the point of higher education. I’d suggest, if you want to do it seriously, get yourself educated and head in that direction. You have a lot to learn (we all did once) about what logos are, typography, colour, production etc, etc. Don’t let this put you off.

We see so many young people coming through here, with a similar approach. “I designed this cool logo. What do you think?” and you know with that approach they are destined to be hobbyists. Do it properly. Find out if you have an aptitude and an ability. The formal education process will determine this. The market is currently saturated with have-a-go-heroes who think design is cool, but haven’t the first idea of what it really is about, beyond designing ‘cool’ logos. The ones who last the course are the ones who learn what visual communication is all about.

It is a fascinating subject and one you can spend a lifetime learning about – and still never know everything. It is a hard, long slog. Worth it, but it comes with long hours and tight deadlines and the odd-all-nigher thrown in!