Personal Letterhead Critique

Hi everyone,

I’m working on a personal re-brand. I’ve joined the forum recently because I’ve heard way too often recently “You can do better”. As a freelancer, I design in a bit of a vacuum, alone in my home. So what a great way to learn and grow than going back to good ol’ critiques.

This is my letterhead, which got the feedback “you can do better” and “it’s boring”. Three different options and would love to hear from you.

I really like the top and bottom ones. I don’t think they’re boring at all. Instead, I think they’re a nice balance between creative and business-like, which is a pretty good place to land if you’re trying to appeal to clients who might regard “artists” as a little suspect.

I might letterspace the condensed caps just a bit more, though. The letters look just a little crowded. Hard to tell at the size I’m seeing them, though.

I rather like the first option. Although I would say the letter spacing could be loosened up a bit. The only other thing I’d say is that you should at least consider making the Facebook f and Instagram camera white. Maybe you tried it and it didn’t work, but I’d like to at least see what that looks like.

Who are your clients/target markets? Your demographics?

Creative Director of what? I’m not clear on the business name, or the type of services you offer.

So it may not be to potential clients, either.

I think they’re almost there. At the moment they feel halfway between a business card and a letterhead. I like the impact of the coloured box in the corner but it also looks a little large. You could try leaving your name and logo in the corner, and then running the other contact details along the bottom.

The layout of the first could cause issues as you’d need to set your right margin quite far in. I would avoid the watermark in the second one as they can cause issues with scanning or photocopying.