Photography and Book Design

Hello Everyone,

I am a photographer undertaking a large self-publishing project looking for advice along the way from experienced designers. Sometimes I realize this project is a bit over my head as I learn new things every week. Essential things. Ultimately as I near the end of the layout, I will hire someone locally to offer critique and suggestions, and help me inch it through the printing process. The reason for the caution is there will be up to 600-700 photos. This alone is a tremendous task to not only select and place them, but to prep them properly. Of course colour management will be a big issue.

I am already a published author. (See the link at the end of this post. )

This current book project is on the same subject.

I am looking for advice on design issues, especially regarding photo placement. Of course, on a million other things.

I am also celebrating 40 years as a published photographer, so if you have questions on aspects of photography, maybe I could help.

Regards,
Ron T Simon
Montreal

You might want to do that at the beginning as well. Heading off problems before you get a hundred pages into is typically good.

You’re asking for broad suggestions, but doing so for something like this would be a bit like me logging onto a carpentry forum and asking for broad tips on building a house. I mean, there’s no way to really summarize the knowledge necessary to do such a thing in a few short sentences.

That said, before you even start, you should think through the entire thing and plan it out. Going back to the house analogy, you need a blueprint on what you’re building and you need to know ahead of time where all the pieces go, how everything connects together and what the end result will look like.