Please critique my graphic design portfolio!

Hi everyone,

I’m new to GDF and I was hoping I might be able to find some honest feedback on a sample graphic design PDFolio that I’ve been using to try and find work. It’s hosted on google drive: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Jez-5hrkUkx23RgseM4SR0_ZWESPmo7o

I’m 2 years into my career and I want to get a sense of how the portfolio looks, how it might measure up against the rest of the design world, and of course what chances It will give me of finding gainful employment!

I’ve been getting feedback from acquaintances and friends of course, but I’m hoping to get some professional feedback from people who don’t feel like they need to be too polite

Thank youuu!

I’m not quite sure what you’re asking. Are you asking for a critique of the portfolio or the work in the portfolio?

First, I think the work in the portfolio is very good. For that matter, it excellent.

Second, the portfolio itself is just a PDF, which could be fine if you’re emailing it to someone or directing them to Google Drive. A collection of one’s work wrapped up in a PDF can be a useful thing to have on hand as an extra way of showing off one’s work.

However, it’s typically not an ideal first-choice way to display a portfolio or allow others to discover it through a web search. Do you have an actual website or a portfolio on Behance or something similar?

You’ve come to the right place!

Very nice work indeed!

Textwise, I think you could lose the word “hence” and edit your descriptions to be more straightforward and readable. More bullet points, less paragraphs, so they’re easier to read quickly.

I’d also like to see more about the resources you used, how you arrived at your design decisions, why you chose the images you did, etc.

And I agree with Just-B about having a website portfolio. You need that, just to look professional.

Thanks for taking the time to reply! I appreciate the kind words about the work, that’s encouraging :smile: