PNGs and signage

Hi friends,

I am a designer-illustrator who somewhat reluctantly takes on print work—I just find digital to be much less of a hassle (and I adore animation).

I am creating some signage for a client, including 22x28" paper signs to be slotted into an A-frame. It’s a collaboration event between my client (a laundry detergent company) and a laundromat.

The laundromat supplied us with their logo as a 8kb PNG. In the design I created for the A-frame, their logo is going to be 10" wide. Because PNGs are raster-based (right??) we could potentially run into a little aliasing / blurriness on the sign, correct?

It’s one of those situations where we are never in a million years going to get a PDF or EPS logo file from the laundromat, and the sign is only going to be up for a day, so it’ll have to do. But in the future, in professional print design, can you work with small-file-sized PNGs for large signage?

See images, my illustrator file zoomed into 400%, laundromat’s logo in navy blue.

If you enlarge it, you’re going to get blurry edges, yes. Whether or not those less-than-sharp edges are objectionable enough to warrant not using them on a one-day sign at a laundromat is another thing to consider. It might not be perfect, but is perfect a necessary requirement given the circumstances?

PNGs (or any raster file) will blur when enlarged. It might be less noticeable when using a photo, but it will still be less sharp than the original. The more it’s enlarged, the blurrier the images will become.

A highway billboard only needs to appear sharp from the distance it will be seen (many feet/meters away), so the PPI resolution can be much lower. A brochure needs to look sharp at about 18 inches, which needs a higher PPI. Something like your need is in the middle since people will be reading it from several feet away.