Printing Gradients - Fountain Steps

Hi, Im a Graphic Designer and I recently sent a Bar runner job to a printer.
The Grey linear Gradient background came back a bad Stripey and a greeny colour.
The printers reason for this was that as Im using a Mac the “Fountain steps” are only set to 256 and I need to increase them to 512 (which is apparently what they are on a PC).
I’ve never heard of this, Does anyone know how I can do this, or if this is even a valid reason.

Thank you
Felicity

I half expect the printer is making some excuses. They’re not totally made up — gradient banding is always a real thing as are color density variations in those gradients.

However, I’ve never heard of gradient banding referred to as “fountain steps,” but, hey, terminology differs from place to place. Gradients are not smooth, continuous transitions. They’re a series of steps that, under the right conditions, can be seen. I’ve also never heard anyone cite a difference between the steps in a gradient between a Mac and a Windows machine. There are those here who know more about the technical end of them than I do, so I’ll let them explain. @PrintDriver, where are you

As for the greys heading off into green, any neutral grey composed of the four process colors is apt to skew off in one direction or another. A grey composed of, say, 10c, 10y, 10m, 10k should produce a nice (but lifeless) gray. However, all it takes is one of those inks printing slightly darker or lighter to skew the color off visibly in that direction.