Product Label Design

Hi! I’ve been a graphic designer for a while but this is my first time doing product label design. This label here is for a natural body wash, any thoughts? I’ve modeled it after Suave, Dial & other labels. I feel like Ultimate Hydration is competing with the water splash behind it. I want the label to feel refreshing and clean! Any thoughts or critiques?

Your design is very cute! One thing is I’m having trouble reading what it says below the bird and flower. Ahava? You may want to work on the letters after the A so they don’t smudge together.

2 Likes

To me, the label comes across as an assemblage of separate elements that lack visual cohesiveness. It’s as though there are several ideas going on — each of which is competing for attention with no discernible winners.

3 Likes

Just-B pretty much nailed it. It feels like you pulled together a bunch of elements with no thought to how they work together, so the whole thing feels disjointed. Also, do you have four different fonts going on there? Is invigorate the most important word on the label? My eye goes there first, then up to Ahava (which I agree with Trent is tough to read). I’d say back to the drawing board on this one.Sorry.

2 Likes

Thanks! I will definitely tweak my design!

I agree with the comments above regarding the design, however there are a couple printing issues you should be aware of with this design.

Since each color plate tends to move around a bit on press, the printer will need to trap the Magenta Bird/Flower graphic with the Cyan background so a white gap doesn’t appear between the 2 colors. This will inherently create an outline around that bird/flower graphic that is a combination of the 2 colors. You may want to consider redesigning that aspect because the outline will make it look pretty ugly, maybe just keep the Bird/Flower as white. Read this to better understand: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trap_(printing)