Seeking feedback on my student magazine layout

Hello,

I am a new design student learning to use Illustrator and InDesign. Our most recent assignment tasked us with using content from Yes! magazine designated as Creative Commons and designing a magazine layout to go with the article. This is my valiant attempt!

I’d appreciate any feedback on how I can improve the article.

I designed the images in Illustrator, and I couldn’t figure out how to lighten my blue background to create a greater contrast between the background and silhouette images. I lowered the opacity, which helped, but it didn’t completely fix the problem.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

I don’t mind the silhouettes and red/blue theme given the subject and that it’s a student assignment, and you’ve set up a grid which you mostly stick to; but I find the overall layout to be off. Take another stab and the 2/3 spread. The space on top of 3 looks very awkward to my eye. I think you could eliminate the smaller silhouettes on page 3 and do something more interesting with the article’s title.

1 Like

Begins With

Over the past few months, we’ve had several students specifically request feedback on magazine layout assignments. Interestingly, I’ve noticed that all seem to run into the same sorts of general problems.

You might want to search for those critiques since much of the advice in them is applicable to your design too. If you look up at the top right of the forum website page, you’ll see a magnifying glass, which is a link to the forum’s search feature. Search for magazine design.

1 Like

Steve_O Thanks so much for the helpful feedback. I agree the top of 3 is awkward. I was hoping to show a progression with the images that first face away, then look toward each other, and finally begin to understand each other.