Software Question

I’m a student currently studying graphic design. We’re being taught to use the adobe suite of apps but I was wondering what other design applications are being commonly used in the industry that I should familiarize myself with. Any suggestions?

2 Likes

There are other applications that fit certain niches, but few (perhaps unfortunately) that would be considered an industry standard. If you learn the Adobe line, you will find it is fairly easy to pick up anything else you may come across.

Quarkxpress is a competitor to some of the Adobe line. I have also used the Xara Designer Pro, and Afinity Designer products to do vector work, sometimes even bouncing between those and Adobe Illustrator because of certain features that one or the other does not have. I have done a great deal of vectorizing (probably thousands of hours) logos and such working for a Sign and Vehicle graphics company and prefer using some of Xaras tools for that. However, there are some third-party plugins for Illustrator like VectorScribe from Astute Graphic that are absolutely awesome in my opinion.

Adobe has most things covered. There are alternative products, like Skribe mentioned, but they’re not nearly as widely used as their Adobe equivalents.

The exceptions being things like Microsoft Office apps. Like them or not, which I don’t, it’s necessary to get the hang of them since every business uses them. Apple’s Final Cut Pro is widely used for video editing, but Adobe’s Premiere is a good equivalent. Similarly Apple’s Motion is a popular alternative to Adobe’s After Effects.

Adobe keeps trying to make inroads into web and mobile app design, but their efforts never quite succeed to the extent that they’ve been able to dominate print. In these fields, there are dozens of competing specialized products.