Space poster

Hey guys, im currently a Graphic Design student, and id really appreciate your critique on this piece and any ideas! This is my space poster, everything is made of sweets, and im going for a pop art look. I want to add more thing such as textures, more treats, etc. but im having trouble where to place them.

2 Likes

I like where it’s going. I like your spaceman and the donuts. I like the purple cake pop.

Personally, I don’t like a the uncolored cookie. It doesn’t blend with the other treats. I also don’t like the positioning of the yellow cake pop. Your spaceman looks precariously perched upon it.

Otherwise I think it’s got some nice potential.

:slight_smile:

1 Like

If this is Graphic Design, what is the message that goes along with this? What is the sell?
Illustration for the sake of illustration is one thing, but if it is illustration for the purpose of sending a message then every little thing in the illustration has to have a well-considered purpose.

You say you want to add more stuff to it.
Already you have 3 (or more) styles mixed in here. You have a line art rendered spaceman and flat rendered donuts, calling attention to the donuts, then for some reason added rubber stamped lollipops and a pen and ink cookie that vie for attention because of their placement. Adding even more styles would be clutter. It’s fine to have contrasting styles, especially if it suits a purpose, market or demographic, in order to call attention to a detail. Am I buying donuts or lollipops here? The cookie and the black pop are out of place. IOW, Hierarchy needs to be addressed. Don’t be afraid of white space.