Tabularasa typeface

Hey!
It’s my first time in the Crit-Pit, so i’m a bit nervous and excited! :sweat_smile:

I know that there’s a huge amount of type nerds and even some type designers here.
I’m asking you to check out and criticize my glyphs.
the Tabularasa Light
(please no comments about the kerning. haven’t had time for that yet)

It is still work in progress, but i’m happy with its evolution so far. My main problem is that it has a huge amount of alternative glyphs.

I am by no means a type designer, but that typeface as shown here has some disconcerting letter spacing issues.

that’s what i meant with “kerning” :wink:

LOL, missed that.
:wink:

haha, it’s all good!
any opinions on the letterforms?

My opinion on typefaces all depends on the usage.
This one is a fairly ephemeral and open.

My own preference is to avoid skinny-stick type at all costs. But I’m a sign guy who has had to deal with the end result of logos with stick fonts and wouldn’t wish it on anyone else.

okay, thank you for your comments!
i’m not really sure what it could be used for — that’s up to others.

there will of course also be a Regular style (workin on it right now) and a Bold style (tba). So the sign guys won’t be feeling left out! :slight_smile:

I think it nice, readable and hangs together as cohesive group of glyphs. It’s good.

Do the three varieties show the alternates or are you trying to decide which to pursue? If they’re alternate sets in the same font, I don’t think they’ll mix and match all that well. As three separate faces, though, they’re nice. The middle one is quirky, which is fine, but those little slanted serifs really draw attention to themselves as oddities. To make them integrate a little better into the typeface, you might need to create other, similar offbeat, diagonal elements within the other glyphs — otherwise they sort of look like afterthoughts rather than an inherent part of the typeface’s personality.