Thank you!

Hi GDF people! I have been a prepress operator for a long time now. I am also currently running a KM1100, Canon 750 and Xante Impressia. And I want to thank all of you great professional designers who put together files that print beautifully without any unwelcome surprises . . . like layering, transparency, bleed, color, etc. problems. This is not always the case when clients decide they can design a job themselves. I admire you guys. Was a designer myself for a couple of years. Thought I did a pretty decent job too, until I got pulled to drive the company van instead. For a few years now I’ve been lurking on GDF (even the old site), so I thought I should register and thank all of you for your expertise, some of which is useful in my prepress position, and also your fun threads which I find very entertaining.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum, even though it sounds like you’ve been around for some time now. it’s good to finally meet you. :grinning:

1 Like

Glad you joined in the fun :heart: Welcome Aboard @mludwig :slight_smile:

I appreciate the cordial greeting and this forum in general. Don’t know if I’ll have questions or answers as I am in prepress now, but like some of you I’ve seen a lot change in 40+ years of the printing biz. Ooh, just had a time warp and am again working with artboards, x-acto knives, rubylith, non-repro blue pens, border tape and acetate. I imagine younger artists don’t have a clue to what those things are. Hint: pre-desktop.

3 Likes

I have a few X-acto scars :smiley:

1 Like

I still have a waxer and a drawer with paste up tools. Every once and a while, they still get used if I’m working on a physical comp or mockup.

2 Likes

We used to typeset paper galleys of type columns, put em thru the waxer, paste em up and continue setting up for the camera room.

I still use my x-acto to cut out n-up proofs from the digital press. Nobody else wants to touch that thing. :laughing:

1 Like