Undergraduate student new to graphic design

Hello,

New to this site and to the industry.

I’m a graphic design student with a background as a professional Chef. I’ve so far enjoyed the practice and I’m starting to see that I have something of an eye for design. I’m doing surpringly well at uni. However, I’m not completely clear on my intentions after studying as I believe that this is a flooded industry and standing out of the crowd may be difficult.
I know that there are plenty of avenues to venture into once I’m out of university but my question is, is it worth it?

Depends what you want? Do you want to be a chef? Or a designer?
If you have a flair for both then combine your skills.
Menu designs, decorating, etc. should be skills you can pull together to be unique in your field as a chef or as a designer.

Although, I can see a need for a chef with design flair, I can hardly see a designer being a chef.

Like porpoise/dophin analogy.

Cheffing is demanding, long hours on your feet and rewarding.
Designing is demaind, long hours on your ass, and rewarding.

Most of the generic fields of Graphic Design are falling prey to the crowdsource/template mentality. Things like newsletters, small business branding packages and yes even logos are going to low bid sites or to people who think downloading a template to do it themselves or using a pre-made logo are the easy way out. If you want to make it in this field you have to aim much much higher and be very very good.

I’m in the Boston area and most of the old Graphic Design studios have collapsed. They aren’t gone, but they no longer hire full time staff. There are very few places for a student to get a meaningful internship too, which I consider an absolutely necessary part of a GD’s education.