Victorian Mourning Magazine Spread

Hey everyone! I’m a student in a print publishing class, and my teacher wanted me to post my first magazine spread for critique. I’m not a pro but I’d love any feedback you can give a beginner!

• Message: The magazine spread is for an article about implementing Victorian mourning culture into the modern age.
• Target Audience: People interested in history, especially the culture of death and mourning, and those who are undergoing the mourning process themselves.
• Use: Placed inside a magazine about societal and cultural issues and topics.

magazine 2 magazine 22 magazine 23 magazine 24

First, if you are going to use a small caps typeface for a title, be sure to select one that is specifically made to be small caps. The weight of the first letter in your title "Lessons from…) is heavier and bolder, which looks weird.

You gave the article contents away in the second part outside the title box.
Why did you where black? Because you need others to acknowledge your grief.
Why should I read the rest of it?

1 Like

– You’re showing a single page (1), a 2-page spread (2-3), and another signle page (4). Try laying this out as two 2-page spreads (1-2 & 3-4) instead.

– With the above change, you’ll want to redesign the 1-2 spread, which is fine since it needs it. I can’t suggest fixes to what you currently have needs more than minor tweaks.

– On page 2, you have a drop cap with a 1-line paragraph… This looks pretty awkward. Loose the drop cap or edit copy so that you have more lines of copy.

– Captions typically go under the photos.

– When you redesign the 1-2 spread, have less body copy on page 2. This will force the body copy to flow onto pages 3 and 4 which will take care of the blank area on page 4.

There is no rationale for the different column widths and gutter spaces.