Web design feedback for simple single-page website

I made a landing page for a small Discord community I started so that search engines can find that community (Discord communities are not normally indexed by any search engines).

I’m a self-taught amateur designer and most of my experience is in programming.

My designs are always pretty tame and quiet but I wanted to try and make something “as loud and bold as I dare.” So consider this a self-directed project with the goal of getting practice making bolder designs.

I’m particularly interested in ideas or direction around how the design could be bolder, louder, or just more visually interesting. I feel like I sorta tiptoed in that direction but it still feels kinda standard-fair: just bigger and with maybe-brighter-colors than usual.

Note that the page is quite different depending on whether you’re looking on a thin screen (likely-mobile) or wide screen (likely desktop or tablet). If you can’t see both, lemme know which version you’re looking at.

Grabbed screenshots of the page for easier viewing on mobile devices. First, the wide:

And then the thin:

Had an interesting idea after writing out all the above… not sure how well it would translate to mobile. Probably shows where my head’s been at though:

It’s awesome that you’re exploring design, what kind area of design do you think you’d like to do?

Regarding the critique: I’m loving the colourful nature of the design, however something feels a bit off. If feels like there’s a bit too much going on. I think there’s a couple of things that are a little bit overdone:

Regarding the heart mark and title in conjunction, it feels like these two elements are competing to be king of the page :crown:. I would recomend picking one to be the king and use the other to reinforce the other by toning in back.