What is the best PC for Adobe programs?

I am sort of self-taught with graphic design and always buy the cheapest PC I can find. (never really got into Apple). I’m a broker and regularly use InDesign/Photoshop.

I know I could likely spend an extra hundred or two bucks for something with better RAM or whatever is needed to process graphics. I’ve been getting into editing videos lately too and so I wanted to ask the experts what yal think. Thanks!

Oh and also, I’ve been using Adobe Premiere Rush for the videos, what would you recommend?

2 Likes

No specific recommendation, but get the most RAM, the most processor horsepower, the most storage you can comfortably afford without going into debt.

4 Likes

What’s your budget? Desktop or Laptop? If desktop - do you have a monitor?

Make sure that the graphics card works with Photoshop and Rush.
https://helpx.adobe.com/ie/photoshop/kb/photoshop-cc-gpu-card-faq.html
https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/system-requirements/2020.html#gpu-acceleration

Windows PCs - you can buy them a lot cheaper than Macs and have better specs than a Mac.

I use both Windows and Mac. not my choice - i I could I’d just use Windows 24/7.

2 Likes

Video editing is the most graphics-intensive thing you can do on a computer. You need to maximise everything. I’m pretty sure any cheaper options for size/speed of CPU, RAM, GPU, HD/SSD, etc. will nerf things greatly. You will need fast storage dedicated to scratch disk usage and mountains of file storage space. Terabytes rather than gigabytes. You will probably need 2 monitors, at least one which should be colour accurate.

1 Like

Completely disagree with their list. Absolutely 100% disagree.

Other Best Of lists are available …

It really comes down to budget - if your budget is endless then yeh go for a Mac and top it out with everything… won’t really matter i your budget is anything.

That’s the good thing with buying Mac - it’s straightforward - even if it is pricey.