Where’d you start?

How did you get your start in graphic design?

Hello! I’m a self taught guy in photoshop and illistrator, and I’m putting myself out there as a graphic designer. I’ve taken some awesome online tutorials to hone my skills with software and have read some informative and inspiring books on design and the industry. I’m slowly building my clientele word of mouth amungst friends. I’m 31, and don’t have a degree. I also tour with a band 3-5 months out of the year.
I would love to hear how you found design, and any tips you vets might have for a hungry young designer.

PS: this forum is awesome, and I’m excited to be part of the community!

I started in high school on the yearbook layout staff… (or maybe in elementary school, making newsletters and brochures about made-up places using Microsoft Word). Got a degree in graphic design, worked at an ad agency, left to freelance, got my master’s degree, still freelancing a decade later.

My advice is to read about design history (so you can use styles effectively), running a small business (so you don’t get screwed by taxes or clients), and ethics in design (so you don’t accidentally screw yourself).

Watch tons of software tutorials, follow artists on Instagram and Behance for inspiration (but not copying, of course), and pay attention to WHY and HOW good design works.

Welcome and good luck!

I started in grade school with an interest in illustration and fine art. After high school I joined the military because I didn’t apply myself enough to get a scholarship. After the military, I used my college money saved to attend a commercial art college. If I had to do it all over again, I would have chosen a different career.

Oh? What path do you wish you would have chosen, DZ?

I got interested in graphic design a few years ago when working with a couple of graphic designers on a project. Last year I decided to go back to school to study it. Wrapping up my first year, and still loving it :slight_smile: