Which one is better

I am an architect with a minor in art history and I took the history of graphic design. Not a graphic designer, but I have respect for the craft. The owner of the design build company I work for is an engineer with no background. had me change some things and I am a bit perturbed. mostly becasue his lack of trusting my insight and choosing to do things “becasue he just likes it” Any ways. please let me know which is better and why. keep it short.

What are these intended to be? Business card? Website home page? Trade show flyer?

First option with only one photo is the stronger of the two in my opinion. Better visual hierarchy. Better eye flow. Less to process. I think it would benefit from a pro’s touch. But if the choice is between the two, go with the first one.

Without knowing what these are for, it’s difficult to say which is best since I’m not certain what the objective is.

I will say, though, that whatever these are — whether ads, flyers or whatever — they’re the kind of thing that is rarely read and usually skipped over. There’s little about them that is inviting, engaging, informative or compelling. Instead, they’re just architectural drawing with various generic filler words taking up space and failing to communicate much of anything at all.

a full page ad in magazine for expo

I’d ditch the top one just because of that brutally cumbersome quote alone, but the white-background expo logo doesn’t help either. Mechanically, the bottom one is no better. There is no primary focal point, no apparent hierarchy.

These are what I used to call “design by list.” The company President or some similarly-endowed officer generates a list of must-have things. I’ve seen such lists with as many as 2 dozen wants!

I can only advise you to go back to the artboard and execute one good idea. Make that the one and only BIG thing. Then hang only what else is necessary around it in a clearly thought-out reading order.

10 pounds of poop into a 5 pound bag.