WIP_Logo Crit

So, as I’ve said before I’m still a student. I have recently acquired a paying client. I’m working with the web designer with this project. The company needs a fresh looking logo, for parents and teens who struggle to talk about topics that are uncomfortable (namely birds and bees, troubled teens). The client requested a logo, being scrapped for time I at work, I sketched some logos out on my Note8, brought some ideas to the computer. Then picked the best 4 ideas I had and presented 4 concepts. The concept decided on is at the very bottom (Its still a work in progress) namely re-configuring where the logo is and the shape of the heart/house.

I’m just looking for feedback on my process, and I’m wondering if the best idea was developed.

Great job! Yes, your process is solid. Sketches, rough computer development, refinement. Out of the four concepts you developed on the computer, I like the house / heart approach and the speech bubble / heart / Venn diagram approach the best.

I’ll hold off commenting about the final logo since you asked for feedback on your process. However, since you say it’s a work in progress, let me know if you’d like some thoughts on that.

This is good — a series of actual sketches that are narrowed down and refined. That’s the way ideas are quickly explored, refined and finally chosen.

A whole lot depends on clients, of course, since they’re paying for it. Your original sketches showed quite a few ideas — some clichés and some not. Personally, I would tended to have avoided the clichés for the final solution (hearts, houses), but it does work.

I sort of liked the very first sketch — the thought cloud with the play button triangle in it. It might not have been as immediately approachable or recognizable as the direction you went, but I liked the idea.