I'm Ella

Hi! I’m new here and just wanted to get your opinions on one of my designs.

I really enjoy photography and touched this photo up using Pixlr. Hope you like it!

I don’t notice where you touched it. Take that as a compliment.

Did you take the photo or just touch it? There’s some other members on this forum who know photography better than I do that will probably have something to say soon.

I took it and then touched it up… this is the original.

I’m a graphic designer and photography instructor, and I’d like to help you. But first want to mention a few things that bother me.

You called it a design, but it’s a photograph.

You put it in your introduction, rather than the critique area.

This is a forum for graphic designers, not a photo-sharing site. There are many Facebook photography groups who will look at your work and give you lots of positive comments.

So… I like the retouching you did, but the photograph is not very strong to begin with. That’s okay, everyone has to learn.

But you’ll find more helpful information on those Facebook groups I mentioned. In fact, I’m a member on some of them, and I do take time to help amateur photographers there. :wink:

I was tempted to say the same thing, but I stopped myself when I thought about you and the other members who know more about photography than I do. I couldn’t rule out that I was missing something. I only learned the basics in art school and didn’t retain much of the technical details.

IMO, design is problem solving. Technical skills are used in design more than design is used in technical skills. If the only problem that was solved in this photo was the color saturation problem, then yeah, it wasn’t much of a design. I also think of composition and lighting as design. But if the cat wasn’t directed to pose in a preplanned way and no reflectors or artificial light was used, then there was no design there either.