New student Graphic designer from Holland

I will start next December the one year course Graphic designer Creative Cloud to learn how to work professionally with Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign.

I have to wait until December to buy all Adobe Apps because then as a student I can buy them with a discount.

Suggestions to prepare me for the course are welcome. Thanks.

Firstly; welcome.

Suggestions? Know that learning software is not the only part of being a designer. In fact, it is not even the most important part. I could do a course to learn how to use a mallet and masonry chisel. It would not make me a master stonemason.

Do you plan on doing a design degree after that – or do you have one already? If so, the rest of this post will become redundant.

If your long-term plan is to have a sustainable career as a designer, I’d strongly suggest that you need to do a design degree. In fact, truth be known, this would be preferable to doing a one-year software course. You’ll learn the software by default as you go along. Anyone can learn software. Being a designer is a whole different ball park.

I am not trying to deflate you here, but honest truth is always more useful than faint praise in the long run.

You need to look at the wider picture. Usually, (certainly in the UK – and the US), the pre-requisite to being able to call yourself a professional designer is a 3-4 year university degree (in the UK, a one-year foundation course, then a three-year bachelors degree). After that, four to five years of experience, then you might just begin to know what you are doing.